-A A +A
Main Switchboard: 01603 257000

NHS England - Improvement and Assessment Framework

NHS England assess CCGs against the Improvement and Assessment Framework for CCGs (the “CCG IAF”.)

In total there are 60 indicators set across 29 areas. These indicators are reported quarterly.

To summarise, these indicators are captured within 4 domains, these are:

  1. Better Health- Improving the health and wellbeing of the population, bending the demand curve.
  2. Better Care- Care redesign, performance of constitutional standards and outcomes.
  3. Sustainability-Financial balance, value for money
  4.  Leadership- quality of plans, working with partners, governance arrangements in particular probity and conflicts of interest.

We are also assessed against 6 clinical priority areas. The 60 indicators mentioned above cover these areas. A rating based on a four point “Ofsted style” scale is given for each of the following 6 areas.

These are:

  1. Mental Health
  2. Dementia
  3. Learning disabilities
  4. Cancer
  5. Diabetes
  6. Maternity.

The possible ratings are: Outstanding, Good, Requires Improvement, Inadequate.  These assessments are overseen by independent groups.

The public can see the CCG’s current rating against all this indicators at the My NHS website. The website also includes similar information for all CCGs in the country.

The link to the website is: